Friday, January 25, 2008


Today, Governor Mitt Romney announced that 11 more Georgia State Legislators joined the Romney for President Team. They join Georgia Senate President Pro Tempore Eric Johnson who announced his support for Governor Romney earlier this week.

"We are glad to have these lawmakers join the Romney team. Each one of them has told me they recognize that Governor Romney has the skills to turn this economy around. We need a CEO with real-life business experience as President," said Romney for President Georgia State Co-Chairman Speaker Pro Tempore Mark Burkhalter. "As state legislators, they see every day that Washington is broken and that only Governor Romney can turn this ship around. Each of us here on the Romney team look forward to supporting our candidate. He is a red-blooded conservative, one who will keep 'Red States' red in the General Election and who will win other states on the way to the White House."

In announcing their support, Governor Romney said, "I appreciate the support of these strong Republican leaders from Georgia. Together we can strengthen America by cutting taxes, ending illegal immigration, and building up our military. I look forward to working with these legislators to earn the support of as many Georgians as possible."

These legislators join U.S. Congressmen Tom Price, Phil Gingrey and Jack Kingston, House Speaker Pro Tempore Burkhalter, Senate Republican Caucus Chairman Dan Moody and many of their colleagues from the Georgia General Assembly in supporting Governor Romney.

New Georgia State Legislators Supporting Governor Romney:
Senator John Douglas, Social Circle, Senate District 17
Senator Lee Hawkins, Gainesville, Senate District 49
Senator Cecil Staton, Macon, Senate District 18
Representative Tim Bearden, Villa Rica, House District 68
Representative Steve Davis, McDonough, House District 109
Representative Earl Ehrhart, Powder Springs, House District 36
Representative Johnny Floyd, Cordele, House District 147
Representative Doug Holt, Social Circle, House District 112
Representative Billy Horne, Newnan, House District 71
Representative John Lunsford, McDonough, House District 110
Representative Tom Rice, Norcross, House District 51

No comments: